Monday, July 15, 2013

Bandarban District Information area 4479 aquare km

Bandarban District Information

4479 square kilometers.
Bounded by
Rangamati district on the north, Arakan (Myanmar) and the river naf on the south, Arakan and Rangamati district on the east and Chittagong and Cox's Bazar district on the west.
Bandarban district was established in 1983. It consists of 7 upazilas, 32 unions, 140 mouzas, 1482 villages, 1 municipality, 10 wards and 62 mahallas.

Upazilla/ Thana
Alikadam Upazila, Bandarban Sadar Upazila, Lama Upazila, Naikhongchhari Upazila, Rowangchhari Upazila, Ruma Upazila, Thanchi Upazila
The British rulers declared Bandarban as a forest zone because of its vast forest area devoid of human settlement. The Arakanese were permanently settled in Bandarban after the British ascendancy in Arakan.
Dailies: Jug Rabi and Natun Bangladesh; periodical: Sangu.
Shankha (Sangu), Matamuhuri and bakkhali.

No comments:

Post a Comment